Indian States And Union Territories With Their Capitals.

May 14, 2019   •  471 views

India is a country in South Asia which is also known as the Republic of India. It is the second(2nd) most populous and seventh (7th) largest country by area. India is a union of states, a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government.

On 26th November 1949, the Constitution of India is adopted by the Constituent Assembly and came into force on 26 January 1950. The Constitution distributes legislative powers between the Parliament and state legislatures. The Parliament is bicameral - the lower house is known as the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the upper house is known as the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). At state level some legislatures are bicameral and others are unicameral.

India is a home to 29 States and 7 Union Territories. All the states and union territories are unique in their own ways by having an extraordinary history and culture. So all the states and union territories in India never fail to charm because of unfolding mysteries and charisma.

States and Capitals of India :-

  1. AndhraPradesh - Hyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)

  2. Arunachal Pradesh - Itanagar

  3. Assam - Dispur

  4. Bihar - Patna

  5. Chhattisgarh - Raipur

  6. Goa - Panaji

  7. Gujarat - Gandhinagar

  8. Haryana - Chandigarh

  9. Himachal Pradesh - Shimla

  10. Jammu and Kashmir - Srinagar

  11. Jharkhand - Ranchi

  12. Karnataka - Bengaluru

  13. Kerala - Thiruvananthapuram

  14. Madhya Pradesh - Bhopal

  15. Maharashtra - Mumbai

  16. Manipur - Imphal

  17. Meghalaya - Shillong

  18. Mizoram - Aizawl

  19. Nagaland - Kohima

  20. Odisha - Bhubaneswar

  21. Punjab - Chandigarh

  22. Rajasthan - Jaipur

  23. Sikkim - Gangtok

  24. Tamil Nadu - Chennai

  25. Telangana - Hyderabad

  26. Tripura - Agartala

  27. Uttar Pradesh - Lucknow

  28. Uttarakhand - Dehradun

  29. West Bengal - Kolkata

Union Territories and Capitals of India :-

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands - Port Blair

  2. Chandigarh - Chandigarh

  3. Dadar and Nagar Haveli - Silvassa

  4. Daman and Diu - Daman

  5. Delhi - Delhi

  6. Lakshadweep - Kavaratti

  7. Puducherry - Pondicherry

Each State and U.T has three capitals. They are :-

Legislative Capital is the one where the state assembly convenes.

Administrative Capital is the one where all the offices of the Executive government are situated.

Judicial Capital is the one where the territorial high courts are situated.

All the States and Union Territories namely Puducherry and Delhi has an elected form of Government and Legislatures. So they have a Chief Minister (CM) for a term of 5 years. While the other Union Territories are directly ruled by Central Government.